This month’s podcast is an interview with Dan & Scott Phillips who burst onto the Cleveland music scene in the late 1980’s/early 1990’s as one half of Rotary Ten. Both brothers are still making music today. Earlier this month, Dan who is based in Cincinnati by way of Chicago, released a new, self-titled album as Zapruder Point + The Brightness. This past Friday, Scott who has lived in Raleigh, North Carolina since the 2000’s, released a five-song EP titled Orchard as The Monologue Bombs. We talk about the brothers’ Northeast Ohio roots, the unique sound of Rotary Ten, their evolution as The Boy Wonder Jinx after their move to Raleigh, and their subsequent solo works.

The Phillips brother maintain an on-line presence for Rotary Ten on Bandcamp where you can find songs from that band. From there, you can find links to the Boy Wonder Jinx, Dan’s solo work as Zapruder Point, and Scott’s projects with Rotary Ten bassist Gregg Eyman (Goner and Gnoer) and his solo work as the Monologue Bombs. Go take a listen and buy their new stuff. You won’t be disappointed.

Set List
“Winona” – Rotary Ten
“Never No Kidding” – Rotary Ten
“Earmarks (Live)” – Rotary Ten
“Doug Hopkins” – The Boy Wonder Jinx
“99 Cent Shirt” – The Boy Wonder Jinx
“Sinker” – The Boy Wonder Jinx
“Jay” – Zapruder Point
“This Side of the Bridge” – Goner
“Spirit of 91” – Zapruder Point
“Whatever Day It Is” – Goner
“Terrible Things” – Zapruder Point
“The Winter Pagent” – Goner
“Lisa Pruett Will Have Her Revenge on Coventry” – Zapruder Point
“Dickinson Ave (Song of 27)” – Goner
“Stars + Specks” – Zapruder Point
“The Mathematics” – Gnoer
“Taps” – Zapruder Point
“The Nightingale Routine” – The Monologue Bombs
“Unnamed Stars” – Zapruder Point
“Best Mistakes” – The Monologue Bombs